Don’t answer that.  I know I am.  I get up most mornings, drink my coffee, and check my email and facebook.  After that, I go to the Akron and then the Cleveland craigslists, and type in BMW in the “for sale” search box, just in case there is a vintage BMW listed that I might be able to place in a good home.  I’m kind of  like a orphanage for German cars.  Then, I post the craigslist ads on the BMW2002FAQ website, or on one of my facebook BMW groups for others to see.

On the morning of September 6th, while performing my usual routine, I came across an ad that looked vaguely familiar.  It was a 1967 BMW 2000 Tilux.  I had seen the car somewhere before.  After a moment, I realized that the car was possibly owned by our local BMWCCA chapter president.  He is a retired BMW master tech who repairs cars at his home, and he had done some work to my 2002 that I was unable to do myself.  I remembered seeing the 2000 out there before, but never got to take a good look at it.  I emailed Harvey, asking if he was the one selling it.  He called me back and replied that he was, along with several other BMWs that he had accumulated over the years from various customers, in various states of disrepair.  I asked him if I could stop over and take some pictures.  I consider myself to be fairly well connected within the vintage BMW scene,  and I knew I could find someone who would want it.

I grabbed my camera and a notebook, and headed out to see the wrench guru.  I didn’t know much, if anything, about the BMW 2000, or any of the Neue Klasse models for that matter, other than they were the predecessors to the 2002.   This particular 2000 tilux had been sitting outside at Harvey’s since he acquired it in 1998 from another local car club member.  I felt saddened by the condition of the tilux, parked there leaning to one side on two flat tires, covered in algae, moss, leaves, acorns, and bees nests.  Like it was waiting to die.

I took several photographs so that I would have good documentation for any prospective buyers.  However, something happened to me on the drive home.

I decided I had to save it.

I got home and excitedly showed Mae the pictures.  I told her how sad the car looked, but how much potential I though it had.  Plus it was such a rare, special car for this region.  We don’t see many, and by many I mean ANY Neue Klasse cars in Northeast Ohio.  Especially not a ’67 2000 Tilux, the most luxurious car that BMW offered at the time. In a 1967 test, Road & Track felt that the 2000 sedan was “the best performing 2-liter sedan in today’s market and the best handling and best riding as well.” And the Tilux  featured the sporty ti engine, a wood dashboard, and optional leather seats, plus dual solex carbs.

I honestly felt with a lot of scrubbing, cleaning, and buffing, along with some general maintenance for a car that has been sitting for an extended period of time, that I could have this car back on the road by spring, ready to make the trip to The Vintage in North Carolina.

Did I mention there would be some scrubbing involved?

The trunk contained the original airbox, along with two different shop manuals, various bumper components, some new parts in boxes, and some former residents and their former homes.

Dual Solexes, along with a lot of acorns, walnuts, and the nests of various woodland creatures.

I couldn’t believe that we were considering another vintage BMW, but I felt like it was my duty to rescue this car.  I didn’t want it to end up as scrap metal.  I can’t describe the feeling I had when I got back from Harvey’s.  I called him right away and told him not to sell it, and that I wanted it.  It was rough, but it was nearly 100% complete, and I knew in my heart that with some hard work, there was a gem under all of that dirt.

Obvious flaws:

Exterior is extremely dirty, covered in years of tree debris and algae.

Body looks fairly solid with the exception of some rust along the bottoms of the doors and rockers, one hole in the driver’s side  rear quarter, and some surface rust on the hood, lower valence,  and rear trunk lip.

Two flat tires.  One of the ones that held air was a huge, knobby snow tire.

Only one of the four doors closed all the way.  The other three were partially open, the door hinges are stiff, and the trunk is so hard to close, you feel like the rear window might shatter

Motor turns by hand but hasn’t been started in maybe 15 years.  Engine bay is extremely dirty and full of debris and nests, but looks complete.

Front brake hoses are collapsed, so that if the brakes are applied the wheels will lock up, meaning for now, that it must be moved around without use of brakes.

Interior is missing the headliner and center console, smells extremely musty, but is other wise surprisingly complete, including some cool wood trim, and a fancy a/c unit.

Knowing what I know about 2002s, I didn’t feel overwhelmed taking on a project like this.  I knew it would be a fun project, a learning experience, a great opportunity to own a really rare vintage BMW, and something that Mae could be a part of too.  With her blessing, I negotiated a deal and made arrangements to pick the car up.